Raahe-Kalajoki seutu

Raahe-Kalajoki Region

The Raahe-Kalajoki economic region consists of five municipalities: Raahe, Pyhäjoki, Siikajoki, Kalajoki and Merijärvi. This 80-kilometre long coastal region has approximately 48,000 inhabitants.

The region is preparing for the construction of Fennovoima's Hanhikivi 1 nuclear power plant in Pyhäjoki. The design and construction of this nuclear power plant will be a large international project which will take approximately ten years. The plant will be supplied by Rusatom Overseas, part of the Russian Rosatom Group. It will begin producing electricity in 2024. Due to the nuclear power plant project, in addition to Finnish operators a large number of international companies and employees is expected to arrive in the region.

The InfoFinland pages of the Raahe-Kalajoki Region provide a great deal of useful information on local services for people planning to move to the area, as well as those already living there.

Moving to Raahe-Kalajoki Region | Life in the Raahe-Kalajoki Region | Information about the Raahe-Kalajoki Region

Further information is available in InfoFinland's municipality-specific pages and the municipalities' own websites. Raahe, Pyhäjoki, Siikajoki, Kalajoki and Merijärvi.

linkkiTown of Raahe:
Town of RaaheFinnish | English | Russian | French

linkkiMunicipality of Pyhäjoki:
Municipality of PyhäjokiFinnish | English | Russian

linkkiMunicipality of Siikajoki:
Municipality of SiikajokiFinnish

linkkiTown of Kalajoki:
Town of KalajokiFinnish

linkkiMunicipality of Merijärvi:
Municipality of MerijärviFinnish