Kielikurssien tasot
theme icon

Language course levels

In Finland, there are different ways to describe the level of a language course.

Often the rating scale of the Common European Framework of Reference (CEF) (eurooppalainen viitekehys, EVK) is used. This scale contains the following levels:

  • levels A1 and A2: basic language skills (peruskielitaito)
  • levels B1 and B2: language skills of an independent user (itsenäisen kielenkäyttäjän kielitaito)
  • levels C1 and C2: language skills of a proficient user (taitavan kielenkäyttäjän kielitaito)

These levels are further divided into sublevels. For example, level A1 comprises courses A1.1, A1.2 and A1.3, and level A2 courses A2.1 and A2.2.

The Finnish National Agency for Education’s (Opetushallitus) website offers more information about what the different levels mean in practice. You can also ask directly at an educational establishment.

The InfoFinland web page Official certificate of language proficiency provides information about how to compare course levels to the level of the National Certificate of Language Proficiency test (yleinen kielitutkinto).

linkkiFinnish National Agency for Education:
Scale of description for language skill levelsFinnish | Swedish
Assess your language skillsFinnish | Swedish | English | Estonian | French | Spanish | Turkish | German | Portuguese | Polish | Norwegian | Dutch | Croatian | Romanian | Hungarian | Italian | Latvian | Lithuanian | Danish | Icelandic | Bulgarian | Slovak | Slovene | Maltese | Greek | Czech